What is a chin up bar?

A 'chin up' bar is a piece of exercise equipment on which a person does pull-ups. To perform a chin-up, a person grabs the chin-up bar and then hangs from the bar with their arms extended. The next action is to then pull ones self up to a position where their chin is above the pull-up bar.