What was the miracle of the oil?

Jewish rebels fought for their freedom for three years and, victorious, reclaimed the holy temple in Jerusalem. Now to rededicate the temple, they needed oil to light the menorah but they could only find enough to keep the flames burning for one night. the miracle is: The oil lasted for eight days.

---

During the Maccabean rebellion a jug of oil meant to last 1 day in the temple lamps kept the lamps lit for for 8 days. It is one of the reasons for Hanukah.