Why are hot dogs named hot dogs?

The term dog has been used as a synonym for sausage since the 1800s, due to accusations that sausage makers used dog meat. According to a myth, the use of "hot dog" to reference sausage was coined by "Tad" Dorgan around 1900 in a cartoon selling hot dogs during a New York Giants baseball game.

---

References to dachshund sausages and ultimately hot dogs can be traced to German immigrants in the 1800s. These immigrants brought not only sausages to America, but dachshund dogs. The name most likely began as a joke about the Germans' small, long, thin dogs.