Why are hot dogs named hot dogs?

The term dog has been used as a synonym for sausage since the 1800s, due to accusations that sausage makers used dog meat. According to a myth, the use of "hot dog" to reference sausage was coined by "Tad" Dorgan around 1900 in a cartoon selling hot dogs during a New York Giants baseball game.