Which way should the ceiling fan rotate?

The ceiling fan should rotate counterclockwise to push air downwards, and clockwise to pull air upwards.

---

A ceiling fan should rotate counterclockwise in the summer so that the blades push cooler air down in a column. The counterclockwise rotation is typically set by pushing the directional switch on the side of the motor housing down, but you may need to check your fan's instruction manual to confirm.