Why do farts exist?

We swallow air as we eat, and intestinal gas is also produced within the body when bacteria in the colon break down food. Endogenous gas consists mainly of hydrogen and, for some people, methane. It can also contain small amounts of other gases, such as hydrogen sulfide, which make gas smell bad.