What is carbon fiber?

Carbon fibers or carbon fibres are fibers about 5 to 10 micrometers in diameter and composed mostly of carbon atoms. Carbon fibers have several advantages: high tensile strength, high strength to weight ratio, high chemical resistance, high-temperature tolerance, and low thermal expansion.