What does brothers in arms mean?

The term “Brothers in Arms” refers to the closeness shared by soldiers in the same unit. Under extreme stress, soldiers need to depend on individual members of their unit as living or dying often depends on this reliability. This reliance on their comrades often develops into a special kinship.