What is a fact machine?

I don't believe there is a FACT machine. There is a FAX machine. A fax machine scans an image or a document line by line, then transmits that scan to a receiver where it's printed out and reproduced. Originally it went from phone line to phone line but later expanded to copiers, eFaxing, etc.