Is there a beetlejuice two?

Thus far, there's been an animated "Beetlejuice" TV series (1989-1991), video games and now a stage production, but no sequel. Warner Bros. has shelved the project, with studio spokeswoman Candice McDonough telling USA TODAY "the project isn't in active development."