Who is carl shorts?

I think you mean Carl Schurz. Carl Christian Schurz lived from March 2, 1829 to May 14, 1906. He was a German revolutionary and an American statesman, journalist, and reformer. He emigrated to the United States after 1849 and became a prominent member of the new Republican Party.