How do you use a knife sharpener?

To use a knife sharpening rod, hold it vertically with the tip on the counter. Place the heel of the blade against the top of the steel and point the knife tip slightly upward. Hold the blade at a 15‑degree angle. Slide the blade down the steel in a sweeping motion, pulling the knife toward you.