How do you cut up an eggplant?

Cut eggplant in half lengthwise with a large knife. Brush the cut flesh with lemon juice to minimize browning. To cut the eggplant into chunks, begin by cutting around the outside of each half without cutting through the skin. Then cut the center diagonally to form a crisscross pattern in the flesh.