What is a lifetime guarantee?

A lifetime warranty is usually a warranty against defects in materials and workmanship that has no time limit to make a claim, rather than a warranty that the product will perform for the lifetime of the buyer. ... HP Networking product lifetime warranties last for as long as one owns the product.