How far is mars away from earth?

The closest point in Earth and Mars orbits would have the planets 33.9 million miles apart.

---

Because Earth and Mars revolve around the sun independently, the distance varies. The minimum distance from the Earth to Mars is about 54.6 million kilometers. The farthest apart they can be is about 401 million kilometers. And, the average distance is about 225 million kilometers.

---

In theory, based on the actual position of both Earth and Mars on their respective orbits around Sun, the closest the Earth and Mars could approach each other would be when Mars is at its closest point to Sun while Earth will be at its farthest, putting both 54.6 million kms (33.9 million mi) apart.

---

The distance from the Earth to Mars during their closest orbit is about 33.9 million miles (54.6 million kilometers).