Can you add cream cheese to refried beans?

You can but it has to be noted that the best way to tell if beans have gone bad is the cheese smell they get. If they smell cheesy, throw them away. Adding cream cheese (or any kind of cheese) could make it difficult to know when the beans have gone bad.