How did the great molasses flood start?

The Great Molasses Flood, also known as the Boston Molasses Disaster, began when a huge storage tank burst, sending 2.3 million gallons through Boston's North End in January 1919. It may have been triggered by thermal stress when a shipload of warmer molasses mixed with colder molasses in the tank.