Can turtles breathe?

Yes, turtles breathe and it's not so much breathing as just diffusing oxygen in and carbon dioxide out. The main source of oxygen for a turtle is through their butt.

---

the term is cloacal respiration, and it's not so much breathing as just diffusing oxygen in and carbon dioxide out, but the fact remains: when turtles hibernate, their main source of oxygen is through their rear end.