Why are canadians called hosers?

From 2nd City television (SCTV), the McKenzie brothers (Bob and Doug) would often say to each other 'take off, hoser'. It could also be traced to the losing team of a pond hockey game, who had to hose down the ice after the game (to let it refreeze smooth again): hose + loser = hoser.