Is dog saliva clean?

Dog saliva may be good for dogs, but it’s not good for you—ever. Dog saliva contains hundreds of bacteria, viruses, and yeast. While most of a dog’s bacteria are only transmitted from one dog to another, some can be transmitted to people as well.