How do you know when a peach is ready to eat?

How do you know when a peach is ready to eat? If the peach is firm to the touch, it's not ready. Wait until there is some “give” when it is gently squeezed. Never squeeze too hard- it will result in bruising! A ripe peach has a dark yellow color.