How good are dogs eyesight?

Dog eyes have more rods than humans, which means they can see much better at night. Dogs also have a layer of eye tissue that humans lack called the tapetum lucidum, it reflects light into the retina. This boosts dogs' night vision even more and is why dogs' eyes shine in the dark.