When do babies stop eating purees?

When your baby can bring his or her hands and objects to the mouth (typically around 9 to 12 months), you can slowly decrease mashed/baby foods and offer more finger foods. A child will typically self-feed from 9 to 12 months, and will not use a fork or spoon until after 12 months of age.