Why do chickens lay eggs everyday?

Chickens lay one or sometimes more unfertilized or fertilized eggs a day until they have collected a clutch. If you continually collect eggs daily they will continually lay eggs because their goal is to have a clutch. A clutch usually is about a dozen eggs.