What's a fake pill?

A placebo is a pill that has no effect. It is often used during medicine trials as a comparison of effectiveness.

---

The term “placebo” refers to a dummy pill passed off as a genuine pharmaceutical, or more broadly, any sham treatment presented as a real one. By definition a placebo is a deception, a lie.