What's pepper made out of?

Black pepper (Piper nigrum) is a flowering vine in the family Piperaceae, cultivated for its fruit, known as a peppercorn, which is usually dried and used as a spice and seasoning.

---

Peppercorns grow on a flowering vine that can grow to over 12 feet tall with white or cream-colored blooms. It is grown in tropical regions, native to the Indian subcontinent and in Southeast Asia.