Do garter snakes give live birth?

Garter snakes are ovoviviparous, meaning they give birth to live young.

---

Garter snakes are ovoviviparous, meaning they give birth to live young. However, this is different from being truly viviparous, which is seen in mammals. Gestation is two to three months in most species. As few as three or as many as 80 snakes are born in a single litter.