What is yankee doodle?

Yankee Doodle is a song popular during the American Revolution. Informally regarded as a national song, it is the official state song of Connecticut. A “Yankee Doodle” was a simpleton who thought that just putting a feather in his hat would make him macaroni or fashionable.