How many police are there in new york city?

As of Fiscal Year 2018, the NYPD's current authorized uniformed strength is 38,422. There are also approximately 4,500 Auxiliary Police Officers, 5,000 School Safety Agents, 2,300 Traffic Enforcement Agents, and 370 Traffic Enforcement Supervisors currently employed by the department.