What is a d. eight?

The abbreviation D. with a number after it stands for a type of gaming die (plural dice). A D-8 would be an 8-sided die, with numbers from 1 to 8 on each side. The typical dice you are used to from games is probably a D-6 or 6-sided die, which looks like a cube.