What is a pomegranate classified as?

A pomegranate is classified as fruit bearing deciduous shrub and botanically a berry.

---

The pomegranate (Punica granatum) is a fruit-bearing deciduous shrub in the family Lythraceae, subfamily Punicoideae. The fruit, as intact sarcotestas or juice, is used in baking, cooking, juice blends, meal garnishes, smoothies, and alcoholic beverages, such as cocktails and wine.