What makes a volcano explode?

Volcanoes erupt when molten rock called magma rises to the surface. Magma is formed when the earth's mantle melts. If magma is thick, gas bubbles cannot easily escape and pressure builds up as the magma rises. When the pressure is too much an explosive eruption can happen.