How many gallons does a goldfish need?

Each goldfish requires a minimum of 20-Gallons of water. Following this rule means that two healthy goldfish can live happily in a 40-Gallon aquarium (minimum). 50-Gallon to 60-Gallon aquariums is recommended for three goldfish (four small goldfish).