What did the initials a. d. stand for?

The letters A.D. after a date mean "Anno domini", Latin for "the year of the Lord". The early Christians divided the year dates into "B.C.", "before Christ" and "A.D." for the time Christ was believed to be born and after. This division has since made its way into the secular description of years.