How do you clean morel mushrooms?

First place in a paper bag, and gently shake. Next, swish the mushrooms in a bowl of cold water until no more dirt comes out of the pores. Third, thoroughly dry the morels with paper towels. Morels should only be washed immediately before preparation, as water will hasten their spoiling.