Why do bubbles float in the air?

In order to float, the bubble hitches a ride on a gas that is slightly denser than the air trapped inside of it: carbon dioxide! The heavier carbon dioxide in the air around the bubble pushes up on the air trapped inside the bubble and off it goes.