What year did sammy davis junior record candyman?

The Candy Man was written specifically for the 1971 movie Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Sammy Davis Jr recorded it on August 19th, 1971. It was released in April of 1972 as a single, and also on his Sammy Davis Jr Now album. He was not a fan of the song, but it became his only # 1 hit.