Why was dan rather fired from c. b. s.?

He didn't fact-check a news story thoroughly enough, and it turned out to involve fabricated evidence. He was so angry at President Bush that he ignored the concerns, to the point of bias. But little did he appreciate that Bush at least supported American democracy.