Who sang the song war what is a good for?

The song "War" was written by Norman Whitfield and Barrett Strong for the Motown label in 1969. It was a runaway number 1 hit for Edwin Starr in 1970, but several other musicians have recorded it - including the Temptations, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Bruce Springsteen and The Jam.