What is the origin of the word afghan?

An afghan, or throw, is a woolen blanket that has been knitted or crocheted. Afghans are often used as bedspreads, or as a decoration on the back of couches or chairs. The word afghan refers to the people of Afghanistan. The first mention of the word referring to the woven rug was in 1877.

---

An afghan is someone from Afghanistan, a breed of dog, and a knitted or crocheted blanket--often similar to the textiles that are used in Afghanistan.