Is red hair a mutation?

Yes, About 1 to 2 percent of the human population has red hair. Redheads have genes to thank for their tresses. Research shows red hair usually results from a mutation in a gene called MC1R, which codes for the melanocortin- 1 receptor. The pigment found in redhair is called pheomelanin