What is the definition of propagate?

The definition of propagate is, 1. breed specimens of (a plant or animal) by natural processes from the parent stock. 2. spread and promote (an idea, theory, etc.) widely. 3. (with reference to motion, light, sound, etc.) transmit or be transmitted in a particular direction or through a medium