What was thomas jefferson worth?

Thomas Jefferson was born into an affluent family, and as an adult owned a 5,000 acre plantation in Virginia called Monticello, kept about 200 slaves, and had an estimated net worth of $212 million.

---

At his peak, Thomas Jefferson had a net worth estimated at $225M in today's money. By the time of his death, he was so deeply in debt that his entire estate had to be sold to pay it off. He was even barred from freeing his slaves, other than a half-dozen or so that he'd already committed to.