When did the electoral college start?

The electoral college was invented during the Constitutional Convention in 1787. It first occurred in 1788.

---

The Electoral College was created by The Committee of Eleven on Postponed Matters at The Constitutional Convention of 1787, and was included in the United States Constitution.