Where did gerbils come from?

Gerbils are naturally found in the sandy plains of Africa, Asia and the Middle East.

---

Gerbils are naturally found in the sandy plains of Africa, Asia and the Middle East. The gerbil was originally known as a desert rat until they were commercially introduced to North America and bred as pets.