What are the twelve north eastern states?

The Northeastern states are New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, Vermont, and Maine. The border states of Maryland and Delaware are sometimes considered to be northeastern states as well.