What is the formula for calculating wind chill factor?

In the United States, Wind Chill is calculated as 35.74 + .6215 T - 35.75v^.16 + .4275 T v ^.16, where T is the actual temperature in degrees Fahrenheit and v is the wind speed in miles per hour. At 30 degrees with winds of 20mph, the wind chill would be around 17 degrees.