What's the difference between a biscuit and a crumpet?

Biscuits in the UK are like cookies in the USA. Biscuits in the USA are bread-like, unsweetened, and fluffy. Crumpets are like neither. They have a texture more like an English Muffin--spongy and full of holes, but are not usually split in half.