Is chickpea a bean?

The chickpea or chick pea is a legume of the plant family Fabaceae, subfamily Faboideae. The plant is grown for its nutritious seeds. Its seeds are high in protein and fiber. Other names for chickpeas are gram, Bengal gram, garbanzo, garbanzo bean, and Egyptian pea.