What's the difference between first second and third degree murder?

First-degree murder requires that a defendant plan and intentionally carry out the killing, whereas second-degree murder requires that the killing either be intentional or reckless. While third-degree murder is committed with the intention of causing bodily harm, but not necessarily death.