What's the difference between a rifle and a shotgun?

Rifles have spiral grooves inside the barrel and shoot one-piece bullets. Shotguns have a smooth bore and are designed to shoot small pellets - buckshot or BBs - although slugs are also available. In general, rifles are accurate at a longer range.